Wako & Oslo Strings

Wako & Oslo Strings consists of seven young established musicians, whom received much praise doing various projects both on the Norwegian and the International scene in 2016. They are known from bands such as Trondheim Jazz Orchestra, Espen Berg Trio, Megalodon Collective, Trondheimsolistene and Trondheim Symphony Orchestra.

Approaching the prospect of adding three string instruments to a quartet, and not just let them have accompanying roles but rather be active members of the group. It reflects various composers such as Messiaen and Stravinsky, but also finds inspiration in modern chamber jazz projects like Christian Wallumrøed Ensemble and Alpaca Ensemble. 

Martin Myhre Olsen - saxophone/composer

Kjetil André Mulelid - piano

Bárður Reinert Poulsen - bass

Simon Olderskog Albertsen - drums

Kaja Constance Rogers - violin

Isa Caroline Holmesland - viola

Kaja Fjellberg Pettersen - cello