Slow is the New Fast

Slow is the New Fast is an ensemble that has existed since 2015 and whom has over time developed a sound that bridges the lyrical with the expressive.

The ensemble is influenced by European contemporary classical music where the Polish composer Henryk Mikolaj Gorecki as well as trumpeter Tomasz Stanko, are important sources of inspiration.

Slow is the New Fast is made up of young, professional musicians from the Oslo area. One of the members, Joel, originates from Växsjö, Sweden, and the rest from different parts of Norway. Lyder is from Bergen, Hans is from Vinstra in Gudbrandsdalen, Bjørn-Even is from Asker, and Tore from Oslo. This geographical diversity is encapsulated in the bands “sound”.

Lyder Øvreås Røed - trumpet, cornet og flugelhorn

Hans Pålsen Kjorstad - violin

Bjørn-Even Bjarkli Verbeke - piano

Joel Ring - bass

Tore Ljøkelsøy - drums